The New Watchmen Buffs...

Jay_N

This my come as bit of a suprise but I am somewhat put off by the new Watchmen buffs. Now while I primarily PVP in SWTOR, that is not the whole game, but this buff shows that BioWare is only listening to the complaints of PVPers when buffing certain specs. I am no expert or theorycrafter but for the most part I believe that it was agreed upon that Watchmen was one of the most viable DPS specs in PVE, despite its weaknesses. The new buffs first are an uneeded addition in the PVE sphere, and while many say that no spec is "hard to play", ultimatley kills any challange of playing Watchmen once you get the hang of it. The lower cost of Merciless Slash and higher damage is clearly a PVP buff, meant for ranked warzones, and while I do like that BioWare is trying to make all specs viable for PVP, there are better ways to do so then to reduce Watchmen to an "easy spec' (again I am not saying that Watchmen was ever super hard or anything). In all honestly I had great success before the patch playing as a Watchmen and uncleansable DoTs are really the only thing we needed. I liked the challange of playing the "underdog spec" and honestly one of the reasons for my success was that people countered Sentinels as if they played Combat. Perhaps they could have added to our PVP burst by adding some sort of proc that would add to the challange of playing a Watchmen rather than taking the easy way out and just reducing the cost of abilities and the amount of damage the spec does. So while I appreciate the buffs I feel as if it isn't catering to those Sentinel players that chose the class because of the higher skill cap needed to play. Some good ways to add to our damage while giving our rotation more abilites (not new abilites, just ones that are already there like dispatch/masterstrike/bladestorm)/challange, rather than giving us a flat damage increase, would be to do things like