The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

So, why exactly are people grinding the best gear?

DPswfan

Although I have been playing Swtor off and on for a couple of years now, I have never bothered with endgame much. I'm pretty much in it for the story. That said, the new gearing changes that everyone has been complaining about don't really mean much to me because I pretty much quit playing my level 70 Jugg until new story content is released.

There seems to be a general consensus that getting the latest gear is a huge grind (I hate grind). However, I am wondering what exactly are people grinding for? This is a serious question, there does not appear to be much endgame content to grind for. There's Heroics that are nothing to write home about, Flashpoints that can be played solo, some short uprisings and some old Operations. I am genuinely baffled, are people grinding gear for that? or did I leave something out? If it is pvp people grind for than I suppose that makes sense but besides that I'm not sure what the point is in getting the best gear. There's not much PvE content to use it for, unless I am mistaken.

I like doing heroics for the money and rewards to sell on the gtm - and better gear helps me do them faster. That means more unlocks and decorations to buy. Also, Uprisings are fun and I like to not be a complete drag on my group when I pvp.

The thing that gets me with GC is that I don't feel any sense of progress. I disintegrate almost all of what I get, and since I don't do any ops or much pvp, I probably won't be able to get many specific pieces. It's just kind of a drag. I don't need the best gear in the game by any means, it's just nice to be able to feel a sense of achievement. Otherwise, there's not much point in playing.