Big Data and Analytics define the game

Injudicator

I wanted to share my opinion on this (just some random Monday thoughts). I work in the Digital Industry and analytics have become an integral part of our planning and execution process.

Did you know your every move is tracked within the game? Bioware has exact data and can precisely estimate if a feature is being used, when, by whom and why. That means that they have the perfect data to see if something is a success or not, predict people's behavior and even influence it slightly.

No wonder we don't get more GSI missions. It's super simple to make a basic feature, test it out and decide whether to continue. That's why Galactic strongholds and Conquest seem rough around the edges. Every digital project is handled the same way: make a basic product/service > pilot it > test out with clients/users > analyse and evaluate how to continue.

Basically it will be super interesting to BW to see how many people use Strongholds and how.

Unfortunately this way of thinking actually might abandon features that people love. There can be a vocal community on the forum preaching this or that, but if the numbers don't add up BW would always go in another direction.

Oh and I forgot to mention, all this is done to support their business model, just some thoughts to help you understand why the game moves in a certain direction.

What can you do? If you love a feature you can get your friends hooked on it. Protest or support by actually doing or not doing it :)

Edited by Injudicator

I wanted to share my opinion on this (just some random Monday thoughts). I work in the Digital Industry and analytics have become an integral part of our planning and execution process.