Hardcore Casual

Samaul

I have a LOT of experience as a guild leader. I currently lead a SWTOR guild with 450+characters or about 250-300 individual accounts. Our average online presence during prime time is 15-30 members. Most of our mekmbers are casual players. Server population has dropped on our serv In guilds and MMOs, player turnover is always and issue. We have experienced extemely low turnover for such a large guild. In the past two months, the population of our server has dropped by about 2/3 but our guild population has remained steady due to good recruiting and low turnover. Despite reduced population, our consistently strong online presence has kept the server population from imploding.

How have we succeeded where so many other guilds have failed? I have tried many strategies to reduce player turnover, almost all have failed. Here are some of the strategies I have tried to reduce turnover and increase member retention:

1. Go casual - let your members do almost anything they want, whenever they want. Make everything as easy and convenient as possible for them. As few rules and as little organization as possible to keep the gulid together.

> The "go casual" strategy has always failed miserably. Turnover is extremely high and retention is very low. Players dont get involved with the guild, have little invested in the game or their characters. Walking away from the guild and the game is as easy as ordering a pizza, they dont think twice about it. "Go Gasual" results in a low quality player gaming experience. Frequent and devastating guild splits are likely with "Go casual". Go casual doesnt work very well for PvE or PvP gulids.

2. Total hardcore - a strong set of rules, firmly enforced, no tolerance of BS of any kind. Everything is organized, strict discipline is enforced.