What to do with my commendations?

Spezzzy

Newbie here, I've never used any of my commendations on anything before, and I'm afraid to waste them as they take awhile to collect. I'm level 16 at the moment and feel like my current gear suffices for now, but I will let you tell me if it's up to date with my level and what to spend my commendations on. I'm not sure if I should be saving these for something or spending them as I play, if I should be spending them what should I buy with each of my different ones?

At the moment I have:

17 - Dromund Kaas Commendations

5 - Hutta Commendations

8 - Fleet Commendations

I went ahead and took pictures of my gear on myself and my companion, I also color coordinated them so you don't get confused or skip over anything.

Player:

http://i.imgur.com/Z3MRl.jpg

Companion:

http://i.imgur.com/67AZR.png

Sorry for the dumb question, and thanks for the help.

With the DK coms, buy yourself an orange blaster. They are level 16 and you can keep it updated by changing the mods in it (same with your chest). Also, you might want to look into the odd armor items on the equipment comms vendor.

The Hutta coms will just rot, as there's nothing to buy with only 5, nor anything worth the time to farm more comms

I don't know what all you can buy with the fleet coms, but the vendor for them is on the Fleet, pretty close to the speeder vendor. Just do more space missions to get more of those.

An easy way to get coms is to do the daily heroics on the planet. After you get your stuff taken care of, then switch over to your companion. Once again, she could use a better blaster, and the other armor items that are sold by the DK comms vendor.

Pretty much, I use coms to buy armoring, hilts/barrels, mods and enhancements. Other than that, I will just buy stuff to either sell on the GTN, or the odd item I might need to flush out a full set of orange gear.

Edited by Fhaze

For planet commendations,