New IA - operative or sniper?

FaToxic

Hi,

just hit 10 with my IA and am atm unsure which of the advanced class to take. I've got some TOR experience, played the game since beta and got a 47 commando (on ice till there's a server transfer option).

Initially I wanted to go sniper (Marksmanship looked quite apealing) but after reading the sniper forums I'm not quite sure about it anymore. Plenty of 'Our class sucks threads' and so on :rolleyes: Is it possible to play the sniper competentive or should I go oprative?

Operative, on the other side, seems to have more variety in their role. I liked the possibility to be able to heal flashpoints or groupquests, but not exactly sure about the other specs. Concealment got nerfed last patch, and I have no idea how competentive Lethality is.

I'd welcome any feedback and suggestions from follow agents (how the classes play, hwo they compete in PVE/PVP, ...). Thanks!

I am in the exact same situation as you - 47 merc on ice cos my server is too dead, and I started a sith assassin but it doesn't really fit my playstyle, so now I'm looking towards IA, guess glowsticks aren't my thing.

From what I've been reading, sniper sports a similar playstyle to merc/commando, which is bad for people like us cos we've experienced the ******ery of merc/commando. Also read that cover is very broken.

Stealthing is pretty fun, so I guess I am gonna make an operative now, gonna see how that goes.

if you're familiar with wow:

sniper=hunter (dps only)

operative=rogue/heals (dps/healer)

ive lvled sniper 10-25 as marksman (single target style), 26-40 as engineer (more aoe oriented). i feel if u stick to one tree the whole time it gets boring, so i tend to switch it up from time to time.