I want to dps.. should I not be leveling a guardian?

evexir

I keep seeing QQ posts about not doing enough damage as guardians. I would have rolled sentinel but I wanted to wear heavy armor.

Anyway, If I get to 50 I want to be able to join a competent pve guild as a DPS spot, and PvP competitively. Will a guardian allow me to do this? I assume the answer is yet but i have no end game knowledge so i would like some insight.

Feels like I just have endless bad luck with this game. My first character was a Sith Sorceror, then I found out once I was about level 22 that sith sorcerers were about 50% of the population on my server so I re rolled. And now I see people complaining that we can't DPS or kill mobs etc..

Are people just bad and QQing? Or should I go roll a pure dps class.

Couple of things for you to keep in my in any MMORPG that you play.

1) Everyone is different and thus everybody's play style is different. What works for one person may not necessarily work for another.

2) The forum consists of less than 2% of the entire games population. Additionally, forums usually contain posts from people that are unhappy, disgruntled and also people that wish to complain just for the sake of complaining. What this means is, most people/subscribers rarely take the time to come to a forum to say "I'm really having a good time." Why? Well, because they're too busy playing the game and ... having a good time. Instead, you will see mostly people that come to the forums and say "I am tired of this game, I want to quit." etc etc. Makes sense?