One upside/downside to level sync (regarding gear for alts)

TX_Angel

Tonight I started playing one of my rarely used alts, a Sentinel, that hasn't been touched since before 4.0.

This alt was left in 186 basic comms gear with 186 augments mostly, with some 178 blues (relics, ears/implants) that aren't augmented.

I went to do a round of dailies and heroics, and got to lvl 65 fast enough. Then I went to fleet to spend my common data crystals to gear up to 208, and a thought occoured to me...

I'm never going to use this toon in ops, or HM FP... the only use might be occasional heroics for alliance boxes, maybe a daily area every now and then. So exactly why bother spending anything to gear this toon up?

186 gear and 208 gear give EXACTLY the same stats when level synced below lvl 60. So what is the point of gear for alts that won't do lvl 65 content?

---

My point is simply that while level sync DOES make lower level content relevent for lvl 65 toons, it does remove some of the reason to bother with gear. With no need to gear them all, it removes a lot of end game play for those toons.

Before 4.0, I paid attention to gear on all my alts, ran the dailies and weeklies for comms, and so fourth. Now? I only do it on my few mains.

Really, one could make a set or two of legacy suits and be done with a large portion of grinding for all your alts. KOTFE struck a huge blow to the carrot/stick motivation.

I've already done this. I just got the class legacy ones and plugged them all with 216/220 mods and I just move the gear pieces around depending on what I want to play. I have two mains and mainly just use alts to feed my mains with companion gifts. There really isn't any replay-ability anymore. It's a one and done it single player adventure.