How do you take down a good gunship pilot with a scout?

Docmal

I am a decent pilot, and have mastered every ship except a gunship. Prior to 2.6 I was very successful killing gunships on my flashfire if I had to.

I would sneak up from their flank, pop bypass, power to guns and blaster overcharge then let loose with my burst lasers from about 2k meters. I would begin a missle lock right after the first shot and let loose a cluster missile when it was ready. This finished off gunships most of the time. However, If I didn't get him I could chase him down and hit another cluster missile and he would be gone.

It seems like now this only works on inexperienced gunship pilots. The experienced gunship will survive my burst, pop deflection and then barrel roll away. Barrel roll will effectively make it a long chase to take him down since its CD is short.

At that point I need to make a decision, risk abandoning the chase and getting a railshot up my arse or chasing him down forever or until his backup arrives.

Just wondering if there is an effective strategy to down a gunship when you have the element of surprise in a flashfire.

Edited by Docmal

• Replies 151
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You know that 2.6 actually nerfed gunships' defensive capacity, right? The nerf to evasion far outweighs the nerf to bypass. What you are observing has to be that some of the gunships on your server got smarter.

I don't know the answer to your question, though, because there are only 2, maybe 3 gunships on my server that can consistently evade even top scouts and I've never fought them in a scout before.

I do know that I very rarely die in 1v1; the more common result is just that I am neutralized as a threat because I can't take a break from evading to actually set up shots on the enemy. I think this ought to be an acceptable result; do you think you would be able to kill a top scout that was focused exclusively on survival and wasn't attacking at all?