The Story in Makeb ( SPOILERS)

Smartcat

Hello guys, I'm not a lore expert so I decided to come to you guys to ask a question about ...

At the end of Makeb in the imperial side we are told that the emperor is dead :eek:. So I'm thinking, why is everybody is so calm? Shouldn't the Imperials be panicking by now? I mean, the mighty Emperor NEVER show his face, the Sith do as they please and there's no intervention, we are clearing losing the war and where the hell is he? Taking some kind of vocation? I would have followed Malgus in a heartbeat if the game gave us a choice, rather him then a invisible Emperor.

Why is everbody so calm you ask?

Because the Emperor hasn't done anything since the Treaty of Coruscant that has benefitted the Empire. He no longer speaks to the Dark Council, he no longer speaks to the Dread Master, nothing. He's completely absorbed by his own plans that he does no longer care about anything else. That's why Darth Marr mentions that the Emperor "will not be mourned". It does not exactly change much for the Empire as a whole. They've lost a figurehead, that is all. While the Emperor is very, very powerful, it doesn't really mean anything if that power is not utilized. As Darth Jadus put it in the Agent's Act 1:

"The Emperor is... distracted. I could resculpt the Dark Temple into a monument to my glory and he would fail to object. Perhaps I shall do exactly that."

Edited by BenKatarn

• 2 weeks later...

The emperor's current vessel is dead. The emperor is still alive, but as people already said he's been doing his own thing for a loooooong time. The council have been running the show for years and not much has changed. On another note, the Empire isn't known to panic. The Empire has discipline and still have strong leaders in the council. Especially Darth Marr.

Since you've finished the Makeb storyline it's clear that Makeb is the turning stone for the Empire. The war is far from over.