The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

Power Tech is Unplayable in 2.0. Dev. Response Explaining Changes Needed

Ottoattack

In the beginning, I did not want to jump the gun without enough testing to conclude that Power Tech is not viable in 2.0. After I finished Mekab and an ops (about 12 hours of PvE) and did 8 lvl 55 WZ, its safe to conclude that the class is unplayable in 2.0. I primary play pyro as dps and I do tank occasionally for PvE.

PvE Prescriptive:

Wither its PvE or PvP, for pyro damage, about 50%-60% of damage was coming from Rail Shot (RS) and Combustible Gas Cylinder (CGC). CGC was cut in half and the 15% armor penetration reduction resulted in approximation 6% damage reduction on RS. It used to take me avg. 11 globals to kill an elite in 1.7. At lvl 50, when I started playing 2.0, I realized I need on avg. 16 globals to kill an elite. This may have dropped to 15 globals to burn through the same amount of HP (33K) after I got all skills at lvl 55.

I am not heavy PvE dps for ops, but others can tell you that regardless of what damage skill tree you are in (including hybrids), you are putting less damage than equally geared and skilled dps of most other advanced classes. On top of that, the only utility that PT bring to ops is aoe damage, which is easily substitute able.

Tanking is pretty much the same. No defensive skills worth a dime other than 25% shield on 2 min CD. While PT tank can fill in for a Juggernaut tank, Juggernaut is better as single target tank and sin is better as multi target tank.

PvP Prescriptive:

I played 8 PvP games at lvl 55. Needless to say that the lvl of competition at 55 WZs is currently insanely high (almost RWZ lvl), because only an elite few made it to 55 (most of my games were on Friday and Saturday).