How to heal a friendly moving target

DragonAgeOrgins

So I'm NEW to healing and I am trying to "target" friendly's. Without warning it "Auto Targets" bad foes. But it won't target friendly foes so I can heal them what gives?

I feel your pain, because I did indeed have this problem at the beginning. There are two solutions:

1. Click on their portraits on the left side to select different ones

2. Use the f keys to target your allies. F1 is you.

I usually use number two.

• 1 year later...
It's really difficult in PvP to heal people. Takes way too long to try and click someone when they're running around, you're getting taunted, etc.

Well as a healer, taunts aren't going to do anything to you. You can carry on healing whoever.

As for clicking people, in both PvE and PvP I click on ops frames. I have the health bars really big and have health text enabled. If I'm being guarded, I put that tank to my Focus Target (alt+F) so that their health, buffs, and debuffs are much bigger. The biggest problem I seem to have with this is that although I can tell if I am in range to heal someone, they may be LoSing me. So if I click on someone I want to heal, and can't do it, I move on to the next person who needs heals.

Different things work for different people; the above is what works for me. You may want to try finding out/ changing the hotkey for switching between friendly targets, like how the Tab key is used for switching between unfriendly targets.

Healing with OPs frames is no problem in PvE, as you will usually be able to decide whom to heal next based on the information you are shown (the health bars and debuffs) and the things you know (who the tanks are e.g.).

I find it much more difficult in PvP where you might see a player being focused, but difficult to target directly (because there is a bunch of other players between you and him). It is also difficult to quickly find that friendly on the OPs frame, especially if it is PUG.