when exactly does the empire become english?

Siyko

• Replies 117
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I believe it started a long time ago, maybe the 20's? maybe the 40's? Sadly, I am no expert, however, the Americans have never forgiven us English (British) for you know... making America what it is... oh and there was the whole George the IVth Tea taxes. So they went to War for independence. Since winning the war, and since Movies have been a massive thing in America, you'll notice a lot of "evil" characters are English (British)

Make your own conclusions as you will.

To your post, I believe since Grand Moff Tarkin was played by Peter Cushing, a major Imperial. David Prowse was also Darth Vader (not the voice - or lightsabre scenes IIRC)

Although Peter Mayhew (who played Chewbacca) was also English.

Edited by Ruliya

Well, going back to the original films, the Empire's uniforms and the name "stormtrooper" have Nazi German influences, but giving the characters a German accent would have been over the top. Going British gave the analogy with another empire and didn't single out the Germans any more than had already been done.

Believe it or not, we are over the whole Stamp Act thing and have moved on. I imagine it's more that Britain actually HAD an empire, so the accent was used. Own your history with pride, Brits. It's certainly worthy of it. Don't push Lucas' use of the comparison off on the "spiteful colonials."

;)

Well, going back to the original films, the Empire's uniforms and the name "stormtrooper" have Nazi German influences, but giving the characters a German accent would have been over the top. Going British gave the analogy with another empire and didn't single out the Germans any more than had already been done.