I’m new to PVP and I am confused.

DevonDs

I’m not getting something. As I researched PVP and especially PVP servers, I repeatedly heard that the idea that higher level characters will kill lower level characters is normal and expected. I heard again and again that getting killed by a higher level character is part of the PVP experience and if you are on a PVP server you need to expect this. I would think that this Higher vs. lower violence woudl also hold true in PVP areas on PVE servers.

I am confused by the people who seem to be expressing that their game experience will be seriously hampered because there will be higher level characters when they get into the game and do their PVP.

This will be my first foray into PVP….What am I missing, won’t most people who start this game in the coming years and months have this same experience?

So the question in a nutshell is….If getting killed by higher level characters is intrinsic to the PVP experience then why does the fact that there will be higher level characters when you start the game make the experience less than optimal.

Rational answers are appreciated, since my guild will be PVP, I really want to understand.

I think what you're trying to understand is just whining and irrational complaints. Getting in a few days later WONT make a difference on PvP servers, except to those select few that try to play a game 24/7 when it's released and be the first to max out.

For those in that category, I guess you should have pre-ordered earlier :)

Edited by driedel

Turn on your mental mute button.

You're being confused by trolls. Ignore them.

PVP servers are fun, exciting and --at times-- a little frustrating.

But don't freak. The level of QQ pre-launch on any forum is off the charts.

Again, ignore them.

Pvp is fun only on equal terms, like a duel.