The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

New Vanguard Trooper with LOTS of questions :)

KINRAD

Hello, I was hoping I could ask a few questions and try to get a handle on what it is I am doing. I am playing a trooper (Vanguard, putting all my points into the defense tree) and am currently level 21. I'm pretty sure I could be doing things a LOT better, and am looking for any advice. I also have equipment questions (below). I am completely new to this, and decided I like my trooper much more than my Jedi Sentinel, so he is essentially my new 'main'. I don't like or plan on playing PVP, so pretty much just looking for PVE advice. Any help and/or guides would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

-=QUESTIONS=-

1) What are some standard issue 'best practices' for my trooper? Currently I have my companion (Aric) open an attack on the toughest in the group, and then rush in to the 10 meter ish range. I use cryo grenade on elites, sticky grenade on weaklings in the middle of a pack. I use 'hammer shot' and the early level grenade A LOT. Also, when can I use 'high impact bolt', it seems like the only time it ever lights up is if I have used cryo grenade. I use the cone and the grenade AoE sparingly.

2) Where can you buy Head and Ear pieces? I can only ever seem to get them via drops?

3) I see slots for 'Relic' and 'Implant' too, where do I buy these? I've never even seen one?

4) Aside from an 'orange' level rifle I picked up with commendations, I have never seen anything orange. Where can I find orange armor?

5) Once you have out leveled an area is there any reason to keep leftover commendations? I have a couple from the first few opening planets, and was wondering if I should just buy a random roll lockbox and see what I get, or if there is any reason to hold on to these?

6) I stumbled upon a site at one point that allowed me to see all of the available skills, and plug in points to play with my progression. I can't seem to find that now... ?