What's the deal with new "vibrant" colors?

-piggy-

I started playing this game a week ago or so and already mentioned to some my friends how awesome its look was. Now I just logged into the game after new patch was applied and all I feel when looking at character selection screen is disgust.

Makes me wonder if game developers realize there could be people out there who work professionally with graphics and may use expanded color gamut displays? Whats the deal with the over-saturation? If you intended to make it "vibrant" then make it honor my display color profile.

Gosh it is practically unplayable to me now with those reds, greens and ugly looking shadows. Did anyone actually complained about this game was not looking "vibrant" enough before?

• Replies 124
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

It seems that you can disable the new colors:

It looks like there is a manual toggle in the settings file.

First, get to the main settings folder by pressing the Windows Key and R, and entering: %localappdata%/swtor/swtor

After opening the client_settings file, you can change the AllowColorRemapping value to "false" to revert to the old look.

I for one don't think the graphics look better now. It feels like a waste of resources.

In my opinion, the graphics were best before 1.3. I look at old screenshots and the game just seem so much brighter. Better colours overall. Animations were better, too. I don't know about other classes, but as an Operative I sure as hell noticed that the animations got worse in 1.3. Kolto probes didn't glow as neon-y as they did before 1.3, and Orbital Strike became a lot less awesome. Screenshot:

http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/8439/comparisonn.png

I'd rather they waste their time trying to fix bugs and optimize the game performance rather than waste time on improving the graphics... because the graphics were fine :/ ..