Expertise cap?

krarom

Hi was wondering if there is a expertise cap for a dps sorcerer? I have 1200exp mentioned but not sure if accurate, or is it always better to stack expertise (if the ratio is right for instanse the power crystal-exp crystal).

Best regards

krarom

Hi was wondering if there is a expertise cap for a dps sorcerer? I have 1200exp mentioned but not sure if accurate, or is it always better to stack expertise (if the ratio is right for instanse the power crystal-exp crystal).

Best regards

krarom

Ok, here are the numbers with the current post 1.2 formulas. I have a mathematics degree and I have run them very thoroughly so trust me this is how it works. All of the numbers were run considering an opponent with full War Hero gear levels of expertise Make sure you read it ALL though before, because it isn't just a cut and dry easy answer.

For pure DPS, it works this way:

> ~700 expertise, power gives you more DPS point for point than expertise.

> ~1050 expertise, Main stat gives you more DPS point for point than expertise

This is true no matter how much expertise your opponent has. Even if the opponent still had 50,000 expertise, it still doesn't make a difference.

However, keep in mind that what you're gaining in DPS, you're giving up in survivability. The question is how much of a tradeoff you're willing to make for your prefernces, playstyle, class, and role.

For example, as an Infiltration Shadow one might be very willing to sacrifice all kinds of survivability because you are going to die pretty fast anyways and you're role is to do as much damage as you can first. As a Guardian tank spec, you're going to be a lot more concerned with having more expertise.

The question then is how much survivability do you sacrifice?

Well for starters, you should never go with the power number. Stacking onloy 700 expertise would be an absolutely idiotic idea and get you insta-killed.