The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

Q on Assualt Spec Rotation

RickAdams

So you've just procced the reset on HIB and you know you can't proc a reset for 6 seconds. Do you still use Stockstrike and Ion Pulse as filler until the CD is up even though you know you can't proc a reset on HIB? If not, what do you fill the rotation with, Hammer Shot?

Also, when the CD on HIB is almost up (the actual ability CD), say 5 sec or less, do you hold off on using Stock Strike and Ion Pulse until the CD finishes, hit HIB and then start using Stock Strike and Ion Pulse again, hoping to get a proc right away? That's what I've been doing but I don't know if I'm losing DPS doing it this way. Seems to me like a gain, cause you can often get 2 HIB going back to back. But I haven't done the math on this or run against a combat dummy.

I am no expert on troopers, but what I do is yes, I hold off on Stock/Ion when I know HIB won't proc. I usually fill with full auto, but if its not up and you already have your AP and IR up, then yea I guess hammer.

And yes, I hold off on abilities that proc HIB when HIB is about to come off CD on its own.

Edited by Icebergy

Been vanguard since Beta stages, using assault spec. In my opinion if there within mellee range, keep using Ion Pulse, once the 6 seconds up use stockstrike (stockstrike has more chance of reseting your HIB cooldown but ION Pulse does more damage). Full auto is a waste of ammo at close range compared to ion, and hammer just doesnt do enough damage. Ion Pulse is only 2 ammo, and is your primary move as a Assault Vanguard.

Just my 0.02 Cents