I feel like this game should have been a single player RPG.

lostluna

Or maybe I am just not into MMO's?

I don't know what it is about this game that dissatisfies me. I like the story lines and the characters alright, and the game play is enjoyable if a bit mediocre, but it still leaves a lot to be desired for some reason.

I have played RPG's since I was a small child. Dozens and dozens of them, mostly console RPGs, but also stuff like Oblivion and Baldur's Gate. I also roleplayed in chat rooms as a teenager.

However, I am not very experienced with MMO's. I played WoW for 3 months and canceled my subscription due to the immense boredom I experienced. Same thing for Ragnarok online. I simply didn't see the point of endless leveling with no incentive to do so. I never played PvP, raided or anything like that.

I really , really want to like this game but there are things that are killing my enjoyment. I am not sure if its me or the game though.

Several things that bother me about SWTOR:

1. the game makes it hard to socialize with people. There is a chat box in the top corner of course, but the general chat is the entire planet that you are on. This makes it hard to make friends. It's also rather intimidating to someone who is rather shy like me. Not to mention that this limits roleplaying experiences.

2. No one's character is truly unique. While I enjoy the stories, its very jarring to see every other agent around me also hanging out with a bald chick named Kaliyo. (and yes... I know that I can turn off the text over the companion's heads, but still...).Everyone goes through the same story in the same way and ends up as pretty much the same person. This kind of kills my ideas for creating characters. Not to mention the fact that if I want another character of the same class I must go through the same exact story all over again to create what is basically the same character with maybe a change in gender or race.