Concerning Websites showing Server Population Graphs

Kaelshi

I've been seeing people reference websites like torstatus and mmo junkies when attempting to argue server population points.

I thought I would make an independent post - without an argument on whether pop is actually rising or falling, in an attempt to explain them.

I have been associated with websites in the past that monitored server population(not currently with any of the ones I'll be mentioning and I am compelled to not post the ones I worked with in the past)

I am actually an economist by trade with a background in accounting - many of these websites consult with us so they can better understand the information they receive as well as to better educate those who visit their websites.

I will try to be as simple as possible.

Here is a link to MMO Junkise Server Status website

http://www.mmojunkies.net/index.phpapp=statistics&module=servers&section=list&game=swtor

It appears to show a drop in population. The reality is you can not determine actual population numbers from this chart. They explain why at the bottom of the page

Note: Values in y-axis DOES NOT represent player count but instead aggregated server-status. For more information about interpreting them and explanation on how they're acquired, please visit our FAQ page.

What This Means - the y axis of the chart is the axis that is on the left and rising - on their charts it rises in increments of 100(so 100...200..300 etc.). This is NOT a count of the number of people logged in to SWTOR. this is a numerical representation of the aggregate server status. This means MMO Junkie has assigned a number value to each server status(example light = 1, medium = 2, heavy = 3) They track what each status of each server is, combined them, and come up with a total number. They then present this info on a graph, over time.