New to Sentinel...new to mmo

DarthMors

So, yeah, I'm a noob. After farting around with some other classes I decided to try Sentinel. I just recently started learning the ropes of keybinds as well and i'm starting to get the hang of it. I am more a fan of story than I am PvP, but I have found PvP useful for helping me to get decent gear and have fun with it for the most part, but I want to be able to be better at it later, so until then I just use it to pad my exp, creds, and commendations...since I'm not that good at it atm.

So until i reach a higher level, currently 27, should i be using watchman to level? I read through lots threads, but get lost in a lot of unfamiliar jargon and terms. I like to solo a lot and find myself needing to due to lack of help from other players in missions. I'll pop into a warzone occasionally to try to hone my skills a bit and stay familiar with the mechanics. But regularly get my arse handed to me and I have poor memory for rotations and such, so I basically just button mash a lot.

At 43 years old, some gaming habits are hard to get over. Since I'm a button masher, how can I do it effectively? Granted, my learning curve sucks, but I do learn. I guess the gist of my thread is this: what is an effective build for PvE play with the occasional PvP until I go hardcore PvP? Also, Which abilities should I hotkey for my (lack of) skill?

I look forward to responses and feedback. Thank you and may the Force be with you.

Edited by DarthMors

I'm not trying to be offensive, or an elitist jerk. But out of all the classes in this game, I'd say sentinel responds the worst to button mashing.

To get the most out of it, or even perform ok on them requires you to use all your skills (and there are a lot), at the right times.

You cannot simply bind 2-3 skills then go to town. You will find PvE hard, and PvP extremely frustrating..