Opportunistic Vulturism: A Sniper's Guide to PVP

Kendar

Oppotunistic Vulturism: A Sniper's Guide to PVP

By Cipher Agent Kendar Arkana

Foreword

When I first started playing PVP as a sniper, I hated it. A lot. It felt like I was dying, every ten senconds or so. It felt like my shots were bouncing off of my targets like they were made of rubber, not deadly lasers. In short, I felt frustrated, useless, and despondent. And if you just started PVP sniping, you may feel the same way.

Well, I want to help. Now, I am by no means an expert. I've only got about half of my PVP gear, and I certainly don't dominate battlefields. This is not, and was never intended to be, the ultimate guide to end game PVP. This is a manifesto, to help those who feel as I did...frustrated and useless. It is a philosophy of play, nothing more. You will find no rotations, no number calculations...just a couple of rules that I hope will help some of those new snipers get on their feet, and be proud of their class.

Premise

I have titled this style of play "Opportunistic Vulturism," and the idea is simple. You are a sniper, and therefore meant to shoot people in the head without them even knowing you are there. When I first started PVP, I was raring to go, with my PVE tested bag of tricks ready to go. I knew a few rotations, I knew where my escape buttons were. Couldn't wait to go head to head with some Jedi filth and show them the power of the Empire!

It didn't work out that way.

Opportunistic Vulturism declares that if you are, at any time, fighting a Jedi head on, something has gone wrong. Or a Sith. Or a Trooper. Or anyone, really. The ultimate satisfaction of playing a sniper should come not from winning an intense one on one fight, guns blazing and lightsabers flashing...but from the simple, quiet headshot to an enemy who was low on health and never knew you were there.