A change to guilds and IT infrastructure...

Kinanmer

So I am a returning veteran SWTOR Founder/Beta player.  I ran into an issue recently that I would want to bring to your attention.  Myself and many of my friends from 10+ years ago have been inactive.  I came back to the game several times though and built up quite a few resources that I would transfer and store in our guild bank for members to share and have access to over the years as they return from the game and take breaks.  It was mostly rare artifact level crafting schematics, extra unbound equipment and things that were no longer accessible.  I mean, collection just sort of naturally happens.  

Some may or may not be aware, but the guild system will arbitrarily and automatically assign a guild leader to the last person to log in. This happens any time that the existing leader has not logged in for over 4 weeks.  I am not sure if it goes down the lines of rank or not.  But in my case and my former guild, it would not really have mattered since no officer had logged in for a really long time. 

Normally I understand this and this is not an issue.  What happened to me and my guild however became an issue.  We had one member that invited their kids into the guild.  They only leveled up to maybe level 10.  Since they are young adults and younger teens, they may have not realized that they were suddenly granted guild leadership.  This means that one character inherited the bank vault, capital ship and all resources of the guild.  Well... their kid deleted their character.  Along with the entire guild.  I had no idea that once a CHARACTER becomes guild leader, all resources are bound to that one CHARACTER until they transfer leadership to another member.  But in the event that the one CHARACTER is deleted, the entire guild is vaporized forever.