New to story driven games - advice?

Mashugana

I am new to story driven games and I am loving it. I thought the first few chapters were cool but now I am in KotET for the first time it feels like I am playing a movie, not a game. I've only played MMOs for so long I did not know story driven games had gotten this good.

Are there any 'must pay' single player RPGs I should check out? If I love the way BioWare does story which of their games do you suggest? Keep in mind that I have not played anything - Fallout, Mass Effect, BioShock - none.

Maybe I can get some of the older games cheap on steam and get lost in some good old fashioned rpg goodness.

Thanks.

bioware have a few games from previous years you can play for the storyline; mass effect, dragon age, kotor series are all fine series. outside of bioware there is the witcher series. all of these have rpg elements and a strong storyline, much like Bioshock and perhaps system shock 2 from years ago, that was one hell of a game as well. Edited by Celise

I am new to story driven games and I am loving it. I thought the first few chapters were cool but now I am in KotET for the first time it feels like I am playing a movie, not a game. I've only played MMOs for so long I did not know story driven games had gotten this good.

Are there any 'must pay' single player RPGs I should check out? If I love the way BioWare does story which of their games do you suggest? Keep in mind that I have not played anything - Fallout, Mass Effect, BioShock - none.

Maybe I can get some of the older games cheap on steam and get lost in some good old fashioned rpg goodness.

Thanks.

It gets worse. There is one chapter towards the end of kotfe, where the whole thing is practically one long cut scene. there is probably around 10 min worth of you controlling your character in that chapter.