The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

PSA: Cartel Market Weapons Aren't Skins

KLoCascio

Hello!

So I'm new to the game, and I mistakenly purchased a weapon skin from Cartel Market; little did I know, that the "wardrobe" feature for SWTOR is not complete. In other words, I wasted 500 CC for a level 1 Cartel Market weapon, that I have 0 use for now. Unlike armor pieces you buy off of the Cartel Market, that you can apply to an outfit, the weapon can not be applied to your appearance.

So the first time I'm purchasing something from the Cartel Market, and I just get the middle finger from "Fernando" the in-game customer service agent: I was told that, 1. I am SOL, 2. Read better next time, and then the ticket is closed with no opportunity to respond.

This a great way to treat a new customer. Very disappointed that those credits are just gone now, and this all leaves me with a very poor impression.

Yep, I agree, the team is very talented at making bad impressions on new (and old) customers.

You are not totally SOL, however. You can unlock the weapon in your collections so that you can reclaim unlimited copies of it among all your legacy characters. This costs extra CC (400 for a gold item like those cartel market weapons) but at least it's an option.

And as the poster above pointed out, you can put mods in the shell so that it is as powerful as any other weapon.

Hope you have a better experience of SWTOR in the future. Despite the developers' efforts alienate their playerbase, there's still a lot of fun to be had playing this game. Cheers.

Edited by Hebruixe

Hello!

So I'm new to the game, and I mistakenly purchased a weapon skin from Cartel Market; little did I know, that the "wardrobe" feature for SWTOR is not complete. In other words, I wasted 500 CC for a level 1 Cartel Market weapon, that I have 0 use for now. Unlike armor pieces you buy off of the Cartel Market, that you can apply to an outfit, the weapon can not be applied to your appearance.