The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

4v4 PvP

TLCuddy

So whats the take of the role of PTs with this dynamic? I feel like ST PTs might be better tanks than Juggs. Less people to kill, less need for more Def CDs. I would think the ability to pull the enemy and burn them down would be more viable than a leap!

This is my first MMO so I have no experience in the arenas of WoW or any other MMO, so I honestly have no real idea what Im talking about, its all speculation for me!

So whats the take of the role of PTs with this dynamic?

Simple. We won't have one. If you can only bring four players in a premade, would you waste a slot on a PT?

No. You would bring an OP healer, a jugg tank, either a second healer or a sniper, and a smash spec Mara.

With four people, you can't afford to drag and carry a gimped spec like your 8v8 kickball matches.

Simple. We won't have one. If you can only bring four players in a premade, would you waste a slot on a PT?

No. You would bring an OP healer, a jugg tank, either a second healer or a sniper, and a smash spec Mara.

With four people, you can't afford to drag and carry a gimped spec like your 8v8 kickball matches.

That is a bit overly negative. There will be multiple viable comps and ones that might take a while to sort out but to suggest that there is only two comps would be a bit presumptuous. Smaller matches do have a tendency to highlight your specific utility. And a pull is def going to be useful as the kiting games start. Run in, hit them, as they run away from you, pull them back, and chain cc on em till they die. Even PT DPs will likely see some use because of the pull. Now will our gimped DPs effect us? Most likely... But tanking wise, PTs are not in a terrible spot.

i have a feeling smash wont be as great in 4v4, due to people not being nearly as bunched up and not having objectives to cluster them up. i expect we'll see a lot more people switching off rage for arenas which will be a nice change for once.