The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

What do Healers look for in tanks?

Dajman

Since I started playing MMOs I have always played quick healing classes. Since I started TOR I have wanted to tank. Not leveling a max level healer yet I figured I would ask those who have.

What is something that you as a healer look for in a good tank.

I for one am a big fan of tanks that take constant low damage over tanks that depend on RNG to keep them alive. Nothing worse than your tank taking no damage for 10 seconds and then getting smashed over and over again for really high damage because they build around avoidance. (in wow it was the deathknights drove me insane vs paladins who I loved healing)

Like I said I want to tank and I believe the best tanks are the ones that the healers love healing. Any one class you prefer to heal more or any little things that drive you insane about tanks when in groups (other than aggro)?

Please help me out by describing the perfect tank!

Call targets. Tell DPS what to do. Bust DPS balls when he breaks CC or doesn't follow your targeting order. The reason I like tanks who do this is so I don't have to be the whiny healer guy. Good tanks know how to size up a battle and take charge. Not an apt comparison, but you can kind of like the point guard running the floor. Edited by doodbro

I like that. Marking is something I loved about good tanks. When does marking start to make a difference? Are there instances that just dont need it or should I be in control from the start of every group for how a pull is going to happen? I see alot of DPS who like jumping in and go go go. They dont like waiting for the marks thinking they can burn the world and not get hurt. I feel bad for healers in that situation because I have been there where you try to rest and get ready for the next fight and BAM dead dps "*** WHY NO TANK AND HEALS!"