The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

PVP: Tank vs DPS

Z-ToXiN

So I just started a new PT. I have some experience playing as a tank Vanguard. Now I am wondering whether to try DPS on my PT. I have a good idea of how to play tanks in PVP, having a Sin and Van tank. There defintiely seem to be a lot of good guides and extensive posts about PTs which I will read.

So what I want to ask is about how Powertech tank and DPS builds compare in terms of playstyle and ability priorities. How would things change from going from something along the lines of the Iron Fist to a full on DPS build (and yeah, I know it depends on what build).

I just wanted to create some discussion and comparison on playing Tank versus DPS Powertechs in PVP.

As of 1.2, Pyro is superior, on pretty much all scales. Shield techs just don't have as much survivability as they should.

As of 1.3, It should be a lot closer because BW is patching Shield Techs pretty well, but Pyro seems pretty good (very good, in fact) that I think they'll still be better, if only marginally.

Then again, it depends on the group(s) you play with. If your guild needs a tank, 1.3 will make STs viable.

As of 1.2, Pyro is superior, on pretty much all scales. Shield techs just don't have as much survivability as they should.

As of 1.3, It should be a lot closer because BW is patching Shield Techs pretty well, but Pyro seems pretty good (very good, in fact) that I think they'll still be better, if only marginally.

Then again, it depends on the group(s) you play with. If your guild needs a tank, 1.3 will make STs viable.