Slaves become Inquisitors???

MORTTUUM

I've see all the movies, and read a few of the early EU book (Zhans, a couple Rogue Squad, a few others). Where does the idea that the Sith would choose slaves, of all things, to train in the Force to be Inquisitors? Who came up with this idea? I just started playing an Inq, and find it odd, and annoying, to be called "slave " all the time. Weirdest concept I've ever heard of... Edited by Moitteva
removed IC/political

During the cold war, the Sith were a bit short on forces, so they decided that it's not all that bad to allow someone besides purebloods and humans to train as Sith. By non-humans and non-purebloods they mean totally anyone they can find who is sensitive, such as slaves, aliens, maybe someone they picked up off-world, anything.

Not everyone was fond of the idea, but it happened.

Edited by Mechavomit

The idea is that slaves that are strong in the force are brought in and trialed, and the masters (normally scholarly, aka inquisitors) pick from the group of the trial's best.

I will look into why they pick slaves, but I think it related to Revan's ideals that it swells the number of Sith in existance.

And just to clarify: it's not that all inquisitors are former slaves, but it's just the story Bioware gave YOUR Inquisitor. Seems like a reasonable plan to bolster your forces this way. The Sith Academy weeds out the weak ones anyway. Edited by Boissi

It also plays into the story a bit when you learn Darth Thanaton never chooses his apprentices from slaves as he's supposedly an arch traditionalist, whereas Zash is not.

Which is quite ironic as Darth Thanaton was once a slave by the name of Teneb Kel

I've see all the movies, and read a few of the early EU book (Zhans, a couple Rogue Squad, a few others). Where does the idea that the Sith would choose slaves, of all things, to train in the Force to be Inquisitors?