Marauder - What is the best build for solo play?

squallthesith

At the moment, i am playing the old republic purely solo; due to my laptop using an integrated Intel HD graphics card. It makes my game lag frequently, so until i get a desktop, solo play is optimal for me.

Anyways, since I'm playing purely solo, i was wondering what people would suggest as a good build for a marauder. I hear a lot of people saying that the carnage skill tree is the best for a balanced character who does not rely on a healer friend. However i also hear that rage is the most powerful of all the skill trees, and does massive damage.

So my question is while i play pure solo, should i focus on this rage skill tree due to its pure damage? Or due to the fact that i just have my companion Vette, should i be a more balanced character with carnage?

Well any feedback would be appreciated as i am quite new to the old republic.

-Thanks

You could do well with either Annihilation or Carnage while solo leveling. Annihilation offers more self heals and theoretically higher damage. I've found, however, that my damage output while solo leveling is actually much higher in Carnage, just because of the fact that things often die before my bleeds take their full effect. Once I realized that I switched to Carnage and I am able to burst down weaker enemies much more quickly.

Each tree has its own issues.

As the previous poster pointed out, most things die too quick for the bleeds of Anni to be fully effective. In end game hm fps/ops, anni comes into its own. But it lacks until then. It is also more gear dependent than the other specs, as you'll want the +crit gear to get you the crits you need for the self heals and such. All that being said, melee range force charges are fun, and a tad addictive. :)

The biggest issue I know of with carnage, is the short melee range of the ataru proc. Against large model foes, you won't actually be close enough to get it to proc on them, severely hurting your dps.