The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

What crew skills most useful in Vangaurd/Tank?

Cheeseblaster

Hey out there. Noob here. What crew skills have people found most useful for a tank? I have Diplomacy, Scavenging, and Armormech right now at lvl 15. But they don't seem to do much for me.

I'm not trying to have you tell me what I should do, but was interested in which crew skills you found most useful in your games.

Also, anyone have a link to a decent Armormech tutorial? It's been useless to me as a skill so far. Possibility that I might just not know how to use it is pretty high.

Thanks in advanced!:wea_09:

Whatever your first two, I'd recommend slicing as the third while leveling-- it's solely a money-making profession.

In all MMO's I've always found alchemy to be the most viable profession, as it's used by EVERYONE, and having a limitless supply of health kits can't hurt as a tank, not to mention the other stat boosts you'll get.

Depends on whether you plan to buy some mats from the GTN or not. If you do not, you need to have access to a mission skill somehow - be it by yourself or through a buddy or alt - because the advanced mats required for blue+ crafts are obtained by mission skills.

But getting slicing will net you the money you need to buy the stuff, unless the market price is off. Slicing is not the currency pinata it was pre-nerf, however - I would guess it is no more so than the other gathering skills if you sell the mats instead of using them. It's merely more reliable income since you do not depend on market price for your output.

I went for Armoremech / Underworld trading / Investigation, but this was only viable because my wife and co-player went with Scavenging and Slicing in addition to Cybertech. With her first alt in Armstech (again with scavenging and Slicing) and mine in Biochem (with Bioanalysis and Diplomacy), we cover everything not Force-related.

I would go for Biochem, Bioanalysis and Diplomacy.