ShieldSpec - Ability Priorities?

Stigas

Hi all, checked the first few pages. Trying to get some more information on Shield Spec Vanguards from a PvE perspective.

What abilities do you prioritize and which do you generally avoid, when tanking in groups and solo play?

Thanks.

I can only speak for solo but here is what I do.

Trash Priority:

-Pulse Cannon

-Sticky Grenade (second because if you do it first it could spread them apart making pulse cannon useless)

-Stockstrike

-High Impact Bolt

Elite/Gold Priority:

-Stockstrike

-High Impact Bolt

-Pulse Cannon (I feel it does more damage against a single target. It is like 3 ion pulses -but cheaper and faster.)

-Ion Pulse

-(Reactive Shield when I drop below half health)

-(Adrenaline Rush when I drop below half helath and reactive shield is down)

Tip: if you are fighting a group you are not sure you can beat (more then one) pop reactive shield at the beginning because that is when you are taking the most damage.

I am no expert and would love to get other peoples rotations as well.

It's basically

- get in melee range

- Stockstrike, High Impact Bolt and Energy Blast on every cooldown

- Fill with Hammer Shot and Ion Pulse.

- Try not to let ammo get too low.

Single mob pull is Storm (use Sticky Grenade until you get Storm) and then Ion Pulse (to get damage debuff).

Group pull is Explosive Round, Storm, Explosive Surge. Be prepared to Harpoon the furthest mob to the group. Use Pulse Cannon when all grouped up.

Edited by qwinnet

What I do is this:

Sticky Grenade, then Storm, Stock strike then HIB. If one NPC got knocked too far I'll harpoon them back and use Pulse Cannon. I'll hammer shot once then wait on cooldowns. I dont use Ion Pulse a lot because it's not that much higher damage than hammer shot and i find that Ion Cell can proc more because hammer shot seems to hit 2 or 3 times.

If it's an elite then I'll start the same way but add Cryo Grenade + full auto to the rotation after HIB.