PT tanking rotation theorycrafting advice/opinions wanted

THAT_EPIC_GUY

Disclaimer: I'm not an expert on pt tanking by any means hence my request for help :p I could simply have missed something totally obvious and any clarification is appreciated.

So I recently started gearing my pt tank and was playing around with rotations. The thing that puzzles me with PT tanking is that they suffer a huge dps loss in order to achieve maximum mitigation compared to other tanks. I haven't been able to find much of a concrete answer of what is preferable. So I did some parsing to try to get a more concrete comparison between a high dps tanking rotation and a maximum mitigation rotation. For the purposes of explanation I'll be referring to them as 'dps rotation' and 'mitigation rotation.' The major difference between them is that the dps rotation uses rapid shot for heat management and to apply the ion cell dot in order for minimal delay on railshot, whereas the mitigation rotation purely uses rapid shots, rocket punch, and railshot (both rotations of course using heat blast when available and shoulder cannon/explosive fuel). I'm sure my rotation was not 100% perfect and 5 parses isn't a spectacular sample size but this was just to get some rough stats to analyze and get some insight.

Parses were done on the 500k hp operations dummy with debuffs modifier active. Gear was a mix of 220 and 224. Relics used were exarch mk-26 shield amp and ultimate exarch reactive warding. I parsed until I had 5 parses for each rotation within 2% of each other's total crit damage (I used crit damage as the indicator of crit rng since it's more reliable than crit %, a high crit percentage on weaker moves can skew the crit % and make it a misleading representation of lucky parsing). The relevant stats for the 5 parses were averaged and are as follows. I also included a brief statement of the ability composition of both rotations and how they may be relevant to raid encounters.

Mitigation rotation;