Benchmarking / Testing / What do you want to see? (if anything)

TX_Angel

http://www.swtor.com/community/showthread.php?t=868156&page=6

In the above thread, I got carried away and did a bunch of random tests on multiple computers, using FRAPS, to try and see what type of performance to expect in SWTOR on various hardware.

Now I'm not a game tester by trade, and I'll admit that some of my methods may not be perfect. I need to redo the Dell laptop test there and check it for errors that someone suggested might have been made.

However, what do you all want to see, if anything? My thought was that perhaps figuring out what really is needed to do X in the game. Of course story is less demanding, 8v8 warzones seem the most. GSF isn't so bad, I haven't benched ops yet.

I haven't tested AMD, but the conventional wisdom is that AMD is inferior to Intel for SWTOR. Of course it is one thing to make such a claim casually on a forum, it is another to actually benchmark it and put numbers to it.

When I go to Anandtech and Tom's Hardware, they test games like Battlefield and Crysis, not SWTOR. What is the interest level in having an actual detail benchmarking series on SWTOR covering a wider swath of hardware? What would you like to see it tested on, and how?

Open to ideas, shoot!

I'd like to see you test a war zone on medium to high settings with all of the ui disabled except for one hotbar. Then repeat the test with your normal ui, and record the differences in fps. I'd also like to see this same test repeated on both a AMD cpu and an Intel one. Edited by Holocron

Intel i7-4940mx w/ 32GB RAM

Nvidia GTX 880M (8GB dedicated) / Intel HD 4600 on CPU w/ 6 GB system memory allocated

SWTOR installed on SSD

In-game settings:

%APPDATA%\..\Local\SWTOR\swtor\settings\client_settings.ini

[Renderer]

AntiAliasingLevel = 4

AtlasQuality = 0

Buckets = 4

D3DFullScreen = false

GraphicsDeviceId = 4504

GraphicsQuality = 6

Height = 1080

MeshLODQuality = 1

NativeHeight = 1080