Need help with my Pike

Cotlu-Hunlon

I'm new to GSF, having never been able to play it until I got a new computer since my old laptop would nearly melt in the tutorial alone. Now I'm hooked and I'm focusing on the Pike, it's what I want to use and no one can change my mind :) I've looked at most of the builds for Pike/Quell and there's some variation for the Thrusters and I really can't decide on which Thruster to use myself. I'd also love some advice and pointers if what I'm using below is good starting point before I start to upgrade individual components.

I'm using:

Ship

Quad Laser (tried Heavy but my aim is too bad right now for them to be effective)

Proton

Concussion (I'm bad at staying in close enough range for the Clusters)

Directional Shield (would charged plating be better? Read a lot of posts about people saying QCS is not good)

Barrel Roll (definitely prefer over the Kturn to be able to chase down)

Deflection armour (seen a lot of people say go for Lightweight as evasion is better, should I? I keep getting killed by mines as it is, don't want to make that worse)

Damage Capacitor

Munitions Extender (I'm not really on long enough killstreaks for this to help, should I change?)

And then Thrusters I'm using Speed because that's the first one given but it's the one I'm most unsure about.

Crew

Qyzen

Tanno Vik the 10% shield power pool (is this good or should I use Dmg reduction instead?)

Akaavi (co pilot for Wingman)

C2-N2

Thanks in advance, sorry that there are so many questions :o

Edited by Cotlu-Hunlon