The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

Endgame Tank Gear

NYYankee

I'm a newb and just got my first toon to level 55. I'd like to start doing endgame FPs and OPs and am looking for advice on the recommended balance of stats for my gear. I started doing the Oricon quest line. My previous gear is orange gear filled with Makeb Mods (lvl 140). On that set, I prioritized Shield and Absorption above all else. The Oricon gear (lvl 156) I'm receiving now is heavy on defense (as well as accuracy which seems to be near worthless).

How should I balance defense, shield, and absorption? Is it best to evenly balance all, or to go heavy in one direction?

The vendors seem to sell complete pieces of gear (for comms) but not mods. Is the GTN the only place to get endgame mods?

Feel free to point me to an existing link or post. I realize this has probably been covered before, but all the info I found is a couple years old and I'm not sure how relevant it is anymore.

• 3 weeks later...

I suggest 18% defense 40% shield and 40% absorb as your target numbers to start aiming for. Most of your gear will end up being shield/absorb, especially once you get your 4-piece set bonus (which is very important, as it buffs two DCDs and gives you an extra 2% defense). Once you get 18/40/40 (numbers that have worked well for myself and a couple PT tanks I know, but other people might suggest different values), you can start playing around with the stats to see what numbers to get up higher.

Remember to keep your set bonus, even if it means you have to use 162 armorings instead of 180s you bought from a vendor. And remember, mitigation > endurance every time.