Challenger vs. Weaponmaster for PVP Carnage Maurader

doughboyxx

I am new to this as a returning player. I need to regear my carnage maurader as I just have the old 50 pvp gear. I have a couple questions. First, do you need to buy one set or the other (challenger or weaponmaster) or can you mix and match to min/max. I notice the helmet on the weaponmaster has power as opposed to crit on the challenger helmet. Can I use the Weaponmaster helmet combined with a power piece from the challenger set and still have both armoring count towards the set bonus?

I'm assuming I can't do this however I noticed when I scrolled over a piece both sets were included in the list on the armor, so I thought I just needed to be sure.

If i can't combine them, then is there a stat difference between the two when all is added up or would I choose one set simply for looks then min/'max as was done in the old days? I do know about the bolster situation however I would still like to grind up my top pvp armor set. I guess I'm wondering what the point of the two medium sets is and which would be advisable for me to obtain. Thanks for any help on this :)

You should by mixed set that includes parts from both

Mix, indeed. Maximize Power. 1-2 Crit pieces wouldn't hurt you much, but it's a general consensus that 0 crit, full power setup works best.

Edited by Helig

Can someone explain to me why 0 crit on carnage spec when we have 30 % crit bonus dmg on massacre ? also, wouldnt it be nice to also crit now and then on viscious throw and even ravage?

Well our most reliable biggest hitter is Force Scream, and by stacking power & surge you can make it hit for 9k'+ even on tanks. Massacre crits are still while damage and so is ravage, that why I guess it's not as much of a priority as Force Scream which is always a guaranteed 6k+ with execute. Also you yourself pointed the issue out,

wouldnt it be nice to also crit now and then