[Tanking] Arkanian -> Verpine feels like a downgrade

Woetoo

Am I missing something?

I'm very new to tanking, but I've read what I can.

I've focused on swapping all that Absorb to Defense and now I've got an almost full set of Arkanian gear, with a few bits of Verpine (offhand and chest) and Underworld (Bracers and Mainhand), I'm starting to build up Absorb again, balancing it with Shield.

Yet, I visit the Ultimate Commendations vendor, and Verpine gear seems to be lower avoidance / mitigation stats than Arkanian, but with higher Endurance. Isn't that just making me a squisher tank with a larger health pool?

Taking a simplified example.. the mod in most Verpine gear is +57 STR, +74 Endur, + 46 Absorb. It would be replacing an Arkanian mod with +63 STR, +47 Endur, +52 Absorb.

Net change: -6 STR, -6 Absorb, +27 Endur.

I can see the need to have more endurance (not least for pug groups who equate high HP with high level gear). But if I have to sacrifice Defense/Shield/Absorb for it, is it really the right choice? My only thought is that with bosses hitting harder, that extra HP is the correct counter to a tank with 16k health taking a 16.5k hit. That somehow a higher health pool is a safer choice than better defensive stats. Seems counter intuitive though.

I also see some gear with higher STR too. Again with a Def/Shield/Absorb loss. That at least makes some sense to me, since more STR will generate more threat - to balance out the DPS classes having better gear.

Obviously the better upgrade path is to Underworld gear, but right now, my choices are Arkanian and Verpine.

Is my logic flawed? Should I be less focused on the defensive stats and just buy the Verpine gear regardless?

Thanks in advance,

-Newbie Tank.

This line intentionally left blank