The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

Whats currently the strongest Powertech Spec?

I'm starting my 4th character and have decided to make a DPS Powertech. Just wondering which tree to go for? I heard Pyro is currently very strong? Can anyone post me a link of a good tree to use? Thankyiou

For PvE, I use this.

For PvP, I generally switch a few things around, namely Combust for Intimidation and Rapid Venting for Infrared Sensors.

I couldn't even begin to give advise on AP... I am not good at all with that spec, though I have seen others have some pretty good success with it.

Edited by ssfish

There are members in here that have done SERIOUS research in this subject. Pyro is the 'strongest' in pve/pvp as a whole.

If you want to drop any class out there, Pyro is the choice. However, learning what rotations work best for you or the group is entirely different. Unlike some classes, there is no 'I win button' it's all about burst and kite attrition.

I've played all the builds pre and post 1.2 because of these forums.

My build that I always go back to: http://www.torhead.com/skill-calc#301hZMcMZfhrbdGhMs.1

Some guys prefer degauss over infrared sensors, I prefer to see stealth classes and pop them out before that power attack nails me or a mate.

Pyro and Ap are within 5-10% of each other. Pyro has more burst potential. Some people play better as AP (me). My pyro is 5% less then my AP play.

I also like AP more in pvp, but i get pyro for pvp also.

Try them both out for a bit and choose for yourself.

Currently there are only two main classes that are as close to balanced as possible. Powertechs and Assassins (though Deception assassins would disagree).

Pyro and AP are really really close so you can choose dps based on preference. PVP and PVE both are really close with Pyro pulling ahead in perfect situations with perfect rotations. I am better with AP because I don't handle the RNG venting of Pyro well.