The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

My view so far - classes (advice please)

rizzzzzo

Currently have a lvl 50 assassin with a decent chunk of playtime sunk in. But im new to the other classes ive been dabbling with so I believe this comes under new user section. - please move if need be

what I seem to be finding is that there's some "dead" classes. in terms of red herrings. for example you roll a agent - sniper = damage / operative = damage & heal i believe. now from what I can see the sniper DPS isnt that much over a operative at all from what ive seen especially in PVP making sniper pointless? as you can't heal anyways as a fallback / bonus?

also is the case for sith marauder. I find most of these struggle DPS wise compared to other DPS classes and marauder is a DPS only class?

I've been looking up info and trying to figure out the reasoning/logic behind offering the linear builds alongside those with dual specializations for example - assassin = tank/dps. sorc = dps/heal... when you get to these single role ones especially the ones stated above they seem a bit.... pointless? to roll

any information on this / your opinions would be appreciated. hoepfully this will help more than just myself decide on my next 50 to roll, as id hate to have say a lvl 50 sniper and feel its time wasted.

Thanks once again

rizla

Edited by rizzzzzo

Bit of both, I tend to think it's a waste lvling all the way up to restrict yourself in the late game.

for example i like my assassin, good dps for pvp and pve. and can tank when i feel like a respec. just switch gear over etc.

but thats my main aim i dont want to restrict myself. as I enjoy both :)