PvE commando assault sucks, right?

Pazdingo

There's a guy in my raid who is 100% convinced that this is the way to go, I'm a vanguard assault and I don't think this would lend itself well to commando (especially with no ion pulse)

Am I wrong? I just assume gunnery is much better, even though I have no in depth knowledge of commando's - thanks

Assoult spec for commandos ia a bit diferent than vanguard in termas what skills are buffed but i dont see it being better than gunnary. It still focuses on HiB but commando cant get 90% ignor armor on HiB and no skills to increas HiB damage other than in gunnary and that is to high in the tree to get and need GR anyways.

Well this is for PvE, PvP is a diferent story.

I found assault fun to "toy with" for a few hours as a Commando, but for a perm build? No thank you, never. For the best damage output (as far as I've seen) it tends to be more ammo intensive than Gunnery is. With Gunnery (at 40+) you fire off 3x Grav Rounds... then demo/full auto... 2x Grav then High Impact Bolt... then full auto... Grav, demo...so on and so forth. Even with this rotation (if you have decent timing) you won't really run out of ammo.

Tossing in a cryo grenade every now and then is nice too. lol... but anyway. :D

^ is by no means the only way to dps a gunnery... just the rotation I've found most favorable to -my- preference. I know everyone's varies. :)

Going back to your question... Assault as a whole can't hold up to Gunnery. In the short term it can be comparable, but once you run out of ammo? You fall way behind. Try to pace too much and you're hurting yourself and your group.

But me? I spend most of my days bouncing between Combat Medic and Gunnery about every week or so... depending on my mood. End game... combat medic the whole way.