A New MMO Player's Perspective on Marauders

claihmsolais

I am writing this because I just wanted to offer my own view on the Marauder advanced class to players new to TOR and those arguing on the forums alike. Keep in mind that this is all my personal opinion, with as many facts as I could gather, but ultimately, it is still based on my perception and experience in playing a Marauder.

While I'm not new to MMOs per se, I am new to this kind of MMO, never having played things like World of Warcraft before. I spent a couple of years playing EVE Online, and will likely someday go back there. While that makes me a complete newbie at these game mechanics, I did take a few things from EVE:

1) Teamwork and cooperation is key. In EVE, when you are running an operation, whether it's a combat fleet or a mining operation, everyone, even the person doing the most menial job, is important. Personally, I ran statistics and numbers for my Corporation in EVE, and flew CAP. What that means, effectively, was that I spent most of my time docked, and crunching numbers, or hauling ore for others while crunching numbers. Was it boring? Yes. But the company made it fun, and in the end, the job was important.

2) No man is an island...or a one-man army, as the case may be. Even a player kitted out in the best Navy-Issue warship in EVE will get blasted out of space if he tries to take on an entire fleet by himself in PvP. That's why there are fleets. You don't play alone. And because you don't play alone, you have a role to fulfill. You may choose your role, but in the end, to be effective, you have to play it well.

Now that that is out of the way, here is what I first thought when I played a Marauder:

"Holy crap, what the hell is this ****? I thought I was supposed to carve up stuff with my two lightsabers!"