The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

A Few Noob Questions on Holding Aggro

NewLogic

Hey all, I'm currently a lvl 16 powertech but I'm a noob at tanking. I had a few questions if you guys could help me out:

1. Whenever I'm attacking a mob and generating threat, does it generate threat for only the mob I'm attacking or does it generate threat for all the current mobs that are attacking us?

2. What's the best way to hold aggro of a group of mobs? Lots of AOE's?

3. When mobs are spread too far apart for my AOE's to reach them all, should I be switching targets all over the place to get the aggro of the mobs that I can see are attacking groupmates?

4. Can you recommend a somewhat sustainable rotation while I wait for the DPS to kill everything? I saw a few roto's that had vent heat in them multiple times but I don't see how that's possible because of the super long cooldown (2 min)

Thanks all

I have my own way - others would tell you to start your attacks with AOE...dont IMO. Survey the area for your weak targets and if you have a few that are far apart. Run in, grapple the furthest stray into a position where you can get a good AOE at close range for all the targets OR if they are melee targets - open up with a Sonic missle and move into another group (remember, group NOT mob lol) - once the melee targets give chase and get close fire off the AOE.

As a backup I keep the explosive dart and missle blast as a double bounce attack and it works fantastic and always gives my team mates a giggle when i use it effectively. First fire the explosive dart and let the target panic, fire the missle blast knocking him back into his team mates, the second explosion from explosive dart will finish them or give your team mates room enough to pick them off as they are knocked down.