The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

Brainstorming: How does 7.0 make it easier for new players?

JattaGin

Fellow forumers and PTSers,

while testing the class missions up to chapter 3, I couldn't help thinking how any of the changes will make the gaming experience easier and more beginner-friendly for the average player?

I find everything more difficult to understand, more difficult to find out, slower to progress. I didn't feel guided by the game at all. Just alone the question: What is a loadout? I mean, I figured it out, because I have 10+ years experience with this game. But how shall a new player understand what this is, what this does, and why they would need it?

I have stated my very negative feeling about 7.0 plenty of times before. Having it tested out thoroughly now confirmed all my worries. I don't see how any of those changes make this game any better for the average player.

How do you see that? If you try to look neutrally at the changes that will come with 7.0: Do you think that these changes will make the game better? If yes, how?

I dont think it will. I'm thinking more and more the changes are because the developers couldnt come up with more engaging content to challenge us. We already blow through all new content they spend months to create, in matters of weeks. Also balancing the classes has gotten too hard for them.

Their solution:

Take away abilities and lower the player stats, to make it harder while doing nothing to the content itself.

Case in point. The KOTFE mission Asylum, veteran mode.

On live I'm been able to complete this mission.

On test, level 80, I do everything fine all the way until Heskel, then I got wiped. As a Merc healer I can't keep up with the damage he does.

This change isnt about making it easier for new players, its about brining the level of the players to less than what they should be, to challenge them. Its not level-sync...its squishing the curve, or stat-clamping.