Game unplayable due to resolution/graphics issue

neenoh

I've encountered an issue i have never had prior to patch 5.0

The game always opens in 800x600, no matter what i do. i tried a lot of things to fix it, even changed data in client.in and made it read only hoping it won't change but it did.

The main problem here is not that it starts in 800x600, since i wouldn't mind simply changing to desired resolution every time i opened the game, but the problem is exactly that, meaning i cannot change the resolution because every time i click on the resolution drop screen it drops from the top of my screen and shows only two (highest) options. Meaning i can't even click on anything but 800x600.

A couple time i was able to change it somehow, because the drop screen miraculously worked but then when i started playing the game it was slow and the companions kept disappearing, not to mention that almost every cinematic froze.

Now all of that is something i have never experienced prior to patch 5.0, and i honestly cannot play the game at all, i have spent countless hours trying to fix it but i don't know how.

oh yeah one more thing, if i change the resolution (on rare occasions when resolution drop screen works) it almost always leaves 800x600 active and creates an extra screen in the top left corner in what i think is that other resolution, which again just adds to general frustration.

Does anyone else experience this?

Can the developers just bring the graphic thing back to how it was before the patch 5.0?

When it starts in 800x600 what occurs if you press ALT + Enter then redo ingame settiings ?

alt+enter goes into windowed mode at 1024x768. but when i change it there and click fullscreen it either goes back to 800x600, or just completely messes it up and creates this little separate screens in the top corner.