New player Question: Can Vengeance Juggernaut Tank

Sukhrajsgh

Hey,

I just started playing two weeks ago and I decided to play the Sith Warrior.

I read the dulfy guide but I had misunderstood as I thought that Vengeance Juggernaut could also tank as well as dps, which resulted in me gearing my Vengeance in tank gear. It was only today when someone I met in flashpoint was kind enough to point out my mistake.

So I wanted to ask whether or not it is feasible for me to keep my Vengeance Juggernaut in Tank gear or should I switch to the Immortal discipline instead?

The thing as I understand it, while Immortal Juggernaut sacrifice it damage ability for defense thus taking slightly longer to kill the enemy than usual.

Any insight on the matter is appreciated appreciated.

If you have tank gear, you should be using the Immortal discipline, full stop.

Of the three tanking stats (shield, absorb, and defense), only ONE will even work on DPS disciplines such as vengeance (that being defense). Shield and absorb are only relevant to characters wearing a shield, and shields only work when you're in tank stance.

Let alone that even defense is not optimal for vengeance. Before SoR, it at least made retaliation procs more likely, but now retaliation procs off of your misses, not defended attacks like it did before 3.0.

Now there is such a thing as "skank tanking," where if a tank was to quit a FP group or something, you swap into the tank form and tank without taking the immortal discipline and/or without a full set of tank gear, using taunts (which are tied to Soresu form, not the discipline) and AOE to get aggro and cooldowns to help stay alive. But that is a relatively advanced concept; you need to know the class thoroughly to do it successfully, and if you are asking these kinds of questions you are almost certainly not ready for it.