Which spec for Mara?

SithVincere

I play Annihilation, and it's pretty fun. In terms of just the rotation, I find (personally) that it's kind of complicated. Building up stacks of Annihilator requires time and there are a lot of fillers, but I'm not very good at the spec :-P

Carnage is apparently the hardest mara spec, and revolves solely around fitting as much damage as possible into the gore windows. Looking at the rotation on Dulfy, there are a crap ton of abilities used in the spec, in addition to a lot of fillers.

Rage is the easiest and has some great AoE (smash ftw?).

Hope that helps a bit.

I have a mara as my main, and while there are no hard and fast rules as to how to play it, I personally prefer Carnage spec and use a rotation that builds rage and burns rage in rapid succession.

1 - Force leap (where possible) this will build enough rage for

2 - Smash (if in a mob only, the AOE damage and stun is usefull) / OR - Ravage if single opponent

3 - Double Saber Throw (Again, only if in mob, and where it will not pull another on top of you)/ OR Force Scream if facing single opponent

4 - Battering assault, this will generate a high amount of rage and will allow you to use Massacre a few times, though throw in a vicious throw when it comes up, and rupture to make sure you're not burning down your rage points too fast.

Force choke should only be used when just about everything else is on cool down, or as a secondary interrupt, it will build 2 rage while doing some damage

There's a lot of fillers to be used, and really its up to you which ones you prefer.

Gear can be a problem - if you're undergeared in any class you'll get squished pretty quick.

Hope this helps.

I use primarily carnage for endgame PVE (although i respec Rage for some bosses)

Carnage is a difficult spec to get into but it is very worth it once you do.