New Component Brainstorming

havokhead

Since there's no updates in the foreseeable future and since the Infiltrator class ships are cancelled/delayed indefinitely; I thought maybe we could come together as a community and suggest some new components for existing ships we'd like to see in-game. I'm no developer or theory crafter so I'm sure some (all) of these suggestions will be shot down but I thought these components could add new tricks to some old dogs.

1) Pulse-Wave: much like the commando's/smuggler's/consular's ability. You would trigger it when foes are in super close like EMP pulse but it would act like running into an asteroid, damage would be dealt and ships would be re-directed in another direction. Of course, all ships would be affected not just foes.

2) Shield-Wall Drone: again, taking inspiration from smugglers, the shield-wall drone would be launched like any other drone but projects an indestructible shield wall for a limited time, these walls cannot be penetrated by any weapons on either side. This would mostly be used in defence against gunships. The drones can be destroyed by going around the wall, thus ending the projection. Also, when the timer expires the drone would blow up like a mine dealing damage to anyone too close.

3) Phantom Gunship Projector: yet another drone, which , to opponents would appear like a genuine gunship complete with railgun power-up glow and can be locked-on/targeted and even fired upon, the hits will destroy the drone and the phantom gunship but the decoy will attract attention and distract foes. I think this would be ideal on scouts who would drop the decoy drones like sensor probes on the outskirts of a battlefield.

I have to say I hate the first proposition.

Near from an object ? Instant kill. Yuck.

In addition, being a friendly fire ability would open a Pandora Box : why mine are not similar ?