The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

Choosing Between Shadow and Scoundrel

elyaas

Hi folks!

After researching some threads like this, I realized I am not sure if I'm getting a full view of the subject due to the fact that most of the other threads are mostly over a year old.

I have been playing rogue type classes since I started playing MMOs and both of these classes have my thorough interest. My Shadow (level 54...leveled at launch) is a lot of fun, but keeping track of the buffs is sort-of getting under my skin, though, I can see it's sort-of easy to track in your mind, as long as RNG is in your favor.

My Scoundrel (level 34...leveling currently) is a lot of fun as well, but I am somewhat concerned that Scrapper isn't doing well DPS wise. I like the playstyle for the most part, and feel like a total ****** while running around, but I am slightly concerned over the late game viability (though I have seen a ton of comments around on the forums saying that around 2.6? the Scoundrels got a major buff). The thing is, I am not as interested in that tree on the far right (Dirty Fighting?). Or maybe that is a perceived un-interest as I haven't tried it.

Do you folks have any thoughts on comparisons between the two classes for late-game? I am going to level both, but your input would help on what I should focus on. I do not have as much interest in PVP, so I will be mostly PVEing (DPS on both), but I have been known to binge on warzones and whatnot here and there.

Thanks!

As I understand it, Scrappers are in the top tier of DPS specs. So are Balance Shadows, but it seems like you are not interested in DoT specs.

Is Balance a DoT spec? I've been playing infiltration on my Shadow and it's the one I like the most. I played balance once or twice back in the day but wasn't too fond of it.

If it is DoT based, I don't necessarily hate it, but it's not my favorite.