The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

Tactics or Assault for ops till I gear up for tanking?

I find it pretty difficult to get any 16m SM ops spot as a fresh 55 tank. So in the meantime, I'll have to run ops as a dps. Which spec do you guys recommend, Tactics or Assault? This will be for a few weeks until I get enough tanking gear. Or can I actually dps as shield spec (without pulling aggro etc)?

I've heard Assault is the easier spec but I have no experience. Also what's with this hybrid spec, that might not be viable anymore? Is it possible to do contribute as dps while using shield spec or would one pull aggro and cause massive headaches?

Thanks in advance.

I find it pretty difficult to get any 16m SM ops spot as a fresh 55 tank. So in the meantime, I'll have to run ops as a dps. Which spec do you guys recommend, Tactics or Assault? This will be for a few weeks until I get enough tanking gear. Or can I actually dps as shield spec (without pulling aggro etc)?

I've heard Assault is the easier spec but I have no experience. Also what's with this hybrid spec, that might not be viable anymore? Is it possible to do contribute as dps while using shield spec or would one pull aggro and cause massive headaches?

Thanks in advance.

You will only pull aggro if your tanks suck.

However, just know that you only need a single run of Dread Fortress/Dread palace to be completely geared as a tank for all SM ops, so no need to go running around to get more gear. I wrote a guide for Assault last night that, while tailored for 2.8, is mostly correct for patch 2.7 as well.

With tank gear, you can just buy stuff off the GTN - until you get to the Dread Forged level, the implants and enhancements are better off being the Crafted [Artifact] grade stuff - or more specifically, the Veracity crafted earpiece/implants, and the Advanced Immunity/Sturdiness Enhancement 28